N95: All in one device?

31072007
Today we packed our bags for our vacation in Croatia. We packed all what is necessary. Than I saw the stuff my dad and my brother packed – a bundle of electronics, everything you need for vacation.

A digital camera, a mp3 player, a PDA, a cellphone and a Gameboy.

In the moment when I saw it, I began to laugh. I said that I have one device that has the same functionality like this 5 devices. My dad answered, that it can do this things but not so good like each of them. I want to make a short test where I check if the N95 can replace each device.

N95 vs …

Camera:
Both devices, N95 and the camera, have 5 megapixel. However, how you can see the lense of the digitalcamera is bigger than the lense of the N95. Therefore the pictures from the camera are a lot better.

Winner: Camera

Gameboy:
Do you remember Super Mario or Tetris? My brother plays all this games on his Game Boy. So, is it really necessary to have a Gameboy? No, most of the games that are available for the Game Boy are also available for the N95. Besides a lot games for the N95 are better and for free.

Winner: N95

Mp3-player:
That’s a difficult topic. The quality of the Mp3-player is a lot better, but if you bear in mind that the N95 can sent and receive musicfiles and playback the music over the loud speakers. So, the N95 is as good as the Mp3-player.

Winner: N95 and Mp3-player

PDA:
The N95 has all function the PDA has. The only difference between them is the operation system and the fact that the PDA has a touchscreen. So, it depend on what you prefer – Symbian or Windows.

Winner: N95 and PDA

Cellphone:
Is it necessary to have a second cellphone when you have a N95? Yes and no. If you have a separate-battery, you don’t need it, but if you haven’t a separate-battery it’s better to have a second cellphone because the battery-life of the N95 is really short.

Winner: Mobile
Verdict
All in all, the N95 can replace all this devices, but most of the devices do their jobs better than the N95. However, the N95 is a small and great device that is really useable for a vacation.

~ by Norman John on August 2, 2007.

4 Responses to “N95: All in one device?”

  1. I have to say, despite the features, the battery life of the N95 still pisses me off. And I can’t seem to improve it.

  2. […] Jump over to see how the N95 compares, the conclusion? That the N95 probably can replace all of these for a short vacation, what are your thoughts? One commenter say’s the battery life is a real pitfall. […]

  3. I have a charger at home, in the car and in the office and I can honestly say that short battery life is not a problem for me. Even on vacation, a one hour charge will make it work for the day. The camera more than suits my needs, the mp3 has sufficient quality to enjoy your music anywhere and the games available are great (I’m hooked on K-rally). And unless you really need to work on the run, the N95 works fine with quickoffice, so you can edit and send a word or excel file whenever you need to. You didn’t mention the GPS. The new firmware with assisted GPS made it a whole lot better. Below 10 second fix every time. As soon as Tomtom is available for the internal chip it’ll be perfect.
    My view is that the N95 is a great (almost perfect) all in one device…

  4. I used the phone to take pictures at a wedding and it didn’t last four hours. E.g. I sucks that you have to close every little branch open in the systems folder, otherwise it’ll run in the background all the time. Beginning to think that I got the MOnday model…

Leave a Reply

 
